The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya – overrated

30 05 2010

The Cast

It’s everywhere. The popularity of this anime has made its way into every otaku’s mind. I watched this show a long time ago and to be honest, I never really liked it.

The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya tells the story of Haruhi, first introduced as an eccentric and energetic girl. Later in the plot, it is revealed that she is actually a “god”. She is able to manipulate reality to her heart’s desire. In order to keep her from abusing her power, a time traveller, an esper, and an alien comes to her side, believing that their well being depends on the mood of Haruhi. The episodes depict the daily life of Haruhi.

The first season is bad enough. The very first episode is the most confusing episode of anime ever made. It is so weird and confusing, that it is very tempting to just click that “x” and do something else. Nevertheless, I watched the whole season because of it’s popularity, just so that I can keep up with stuff. As the series goes on, anyone would realize that there is hardly any plot at all, just daily events of a school life. In fact, the episodes aren’t even in chronological order, which is a major confusing factor.

The second season is worse. It is summer holiday and at the end of it, Haruhi isn’t satisfied with it. So what happens is, she makes the world go back and time and loop the summer break again. Thus, for bajillion episodes, the episodes are called endless eight, and its basically the same episode repeated about 8 times. I didn’t even get passed endless eight. I stopped watching altogether after watching the same episode 3 times.

Overall this is one of the worst series I ever watched. I had to force myself to finish the first season. I simply dont understand why people like it so much. Different taste perhaps? For my taste, this anime gets a 1/10. Sorry Haruhi fans.

Actions

Information

One response

10 09 2010
WBX

I have to confess I kind of agree with you there.
Having only seen the first season I do like the show and think it has some good things going for it (I watched it on DVD where the episodes were presented in chronological order anyway) but it’s one of those shows where you really have learn to ignore the fanbase since it definitely doesn’t seem worthy of all the hype.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

